Paarl Theatre Club
A community theatre club in Paarl, founded in 1951.
First period: 1954-1961
Initially they struggled to find a sufficiently well-appointed space to use for theatre, using vari0ous spaces in town, but in 1954 they managed to procure a barn in Pastorielaan, belonging to Mr Podlashuk, to use as their home theatre. They fitted it and called it the Skuurteater (Afrikaans for "Barn Theatre") - a space they used till 1961.
Due to a number of circumstances, the club lost the use of the barn in 1961 and as result of this, as well as the withdrawal of a number of influential people, the Skuurteater had to close and interest in the society itself dwindled to such an extent that the club was dissolved and all the equipment owned by the club was placed in the hands of three appointed trustees.
Second period: 1967-200*
In 1969 the club was re-started by a new group, Pearl Retief, Brian Higgo-Holm and Owen Maunder. They now used the National Hall in Fabriek Street, before obtaining the use of the old mill building in Meul Street, which they fitted up and opened as the iconic Ou Meulteater or Old Mill Theatre in 1971.
The new Paarl Theatre Club was responsible for the direct management and marketing of productions offered from 1971 up till 200*, when the theatre became a private enterprise, a rentable performance venue for the use of amateur, professional and semi-professional companies.
The National Hall
The club produced a variety of entertainment in both Afrikaans and English over the years.
Productions include Die Jaar van die Vuuros (De Klerk, 1952?)
Return to The ESAT Entries
Return to Main Page