Jump to navigation Jump to search

Confetti is described as "An Entertainment for Performance by 4 Men and 3 Women" by Ian Ferguson (1937-).

The original text

First performed in the mid-1970s, with the original performance text consisting of a collection dramatised sketches, based on well-known European fairytales:

The Wise Woman,

The Irish Pig

The Soldier's Tale

The Donkey, The Miller and his Son

The Gingerbread Man

The Three Rogues

The Three Wishes

The Squire's Bride

The Frog Prince

When the text was published by DALRO in 1978, it also included two further texts, added as an appendix: The Goldsmith's Daughter and The Little Match-Girl.

According to the handwritten annotations in a performer/director's script for the 1980 production by PACOFS, the text was selectively used, with replacements and new material added. The final selection appears to have consisted of:

The Wise Woman,

The Bremen Town Musicians

The Soldier's Tale

The Three Rogues


Sleeping Beauty (referred to as a burlesque)

Translations and adaptations

Performance history in South Africa

1980: Presented by PACOFS, adapted and directed by Henry Mylne with Mitzi Booysen, Pieter Brand, Laurens Cilliers, Antoinette Kellermann, Roelf Laubscher, Nico Liebenberg and Roelien Spruyt. It opened at the Observatory Theatre, Bloemfontein, on 24 June.


Along Came a Spider Theatre programme 1980 (announcement of future productions)

Annotated script used for the 1980 PACOFS production, found in the Stellenbosch Drama Department archives in 2022.

Return to

Return to C in Plays I Original SA Plays

Return to South_African_Theatre/Plays

Return to The ESAT Entries

Return to Main Page