Jump to navigation Jump to search

Willem is TV series of 10 episodes produced for the SABC by Manie van Rensburg, and broadcast by SABC TV in 1976.

The series

The first Afrikaans comedy series for television, about a bumbling private detective with a good heart and a talent for grabbing the wrong end of the stick. Willem would like nothing more than to be an average P.I. who focusses on simple divorce cases, but he keeps getting mixed up in more adventurous and dangerous affairs. His secretary Pennie is a kind, simple girl with her head in the clouds.

It premiéred on 18 March 1976.

Cast and crew

Leads: Tobie Cronjé , Katinka Heyns and Dana Niehaus, with guest actors Alewyn Lee, André Walters, At Botha, Billy Pretorius, Dalene Kotzé, Ellie Osmers, François Stemmet, Franz Marx, Henk Hugo, Hennie Smit, Hermien Dommisse, James Ryan, Joe Deetliefs, Joel Herholdt, Lerina Erasmus, Magda Beukes, Mariette Ferreira, Michal Grobbelaar, Milla Louw, Paul Eilers, Paul Myburgh, Pierre Louw, Roberta Durrant, Sonia Grünow, Tosca van Zyl, Willem Loots, Zack du Plessis.

Producer and Director: Manie van Rensburg, Scriptwriter: Kobus Louw, Assistant director: Bill Venter ; Camera: Neil Forsythe and Sound: Chris Fellows .


At the 1976 Artes Awards, the series won the Award for best drama producer (Manie van Rensburg).




Go to ESAT Bibliography

Return to

Return to South African Television Plays and Series

Return to The ESAT Entries

Return to Main Page