Jump to navigation Jump to search

Vyfling ("pentalogy") is a collection of five Afrikaans one-act plays compiled and introduced by T.T. Cloete.

Subtitled " 'n Bundel Eenbedrywe van Hertzogpryswenners" ("a collection of one act plays by winners of the Hertzog Prize"), the volume contains five representative short plays from the first half of the twentieth century: Die Heks by C. Louis Leipoldt; Oorlog is Oorlog by J.F.W. Grosskopff; Opdrifsels by H.A. Fagan; Laat die Kerse Brand! by G.J. Beukes; and Die Jammer Hart by W.A. de Klerk. The collection also contains an introduction on "Ons Eenbedryf Literatuur" (lit.: "Our one act literature") by Cloete.

Commissioned by the Suid-Afrikaanse Akademie vir Wetenskap en Kuns ("South African Academy for Science and Art") to coincide with the fiftieth anniversary of the Hertzog Prize, it was first published by Tafelberg Uitgewers in 1966. Reprinted numerous times, a second edition appearing in 1983.

Go to ESAT Bibliography

Return to

Return to PLAYS I: Original SA plays

Return to PLAYS II: Foreign plays

Return to PLAYS III: Collections

Return to PLAYS IV: Pageants and public performances

Return to South African Festivals and Competitions

Return to The ESAT Entries

Return to Main Page