Jump to navigation Jump to search

A drama school providing training for performers in Afrikaans, founded at Stellenbosch in 1939 by Aletta Gericke and Anna Richter-Visser.

It only lasted a year under this name, then changed its name to Die Akademie vir Dramakuns in 1940, when Suzanne van Wyk replaced Richter-Visser, who had moved to Bloemfontein to continue the classes there. It then became a widespread and influential organisation under the new name.


For more information

See Akademie vir Dramakuns

Return to

Return to South African Theatre Venues, Companies, Societies, etc

Return to The ESAT Entries

Return to Main Page