Revision as of 11:42, 5 July 2014 by Satj (talk | contribs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

A theatre space in Paarl, named and utilized by the Paarl Theatre Club between 1954 and 1961.


When the Paarl Theatre Club was officially founded in 1951, it initially battled to find a space to use as a home base. However, in 1954 they obtained the use of a barn in Pastorielaan, belonging to Mr Podlashuk, and named it the Skuurteater (Afrikaans for "Barn Theatre").

Key figures who were actively involved in the club in this period include Miriam Bloom and Joey de Koker. According to Nic de Jager (2014), the work done by the company in the Skuurteater reminded eminent critic W.E.G. Louw of the Abbey Theatre Players in Dublin.

Due to a number of circumstances, the club lost the use of the barn in 1961 and as result of this, as well as the withdrawal of a number of influential people, the Skuurteater closed and interest in the society itself dwindled to such an extent that the club was dissolved and all the equipment owned by the club was placed in the hands of three appointed trustees.

In 1969 the club was re-started by a new group, but would now use the National Hall in Fabriek Street, before opening the iconic Ou Meulteater of Old Mill Theatre in 1971.

See further the Paarl Theatre Club and the Ou Meulteater


Productions done in the Skuurteater over the years include Die Jaar van die Vuuros (De Klerk)


Nic de Jager Dié Paarlse Dogter was geen 'shrinking violet', Die Burger 3 July 2014: p16.

Return to

Return to South African Theatre Venues, Companies, Societies, etc

Return to The ESAT Entries

Return to Main Page