Jump to navigation Jump to search

The Hertzogprys ("Hertzog Prize") is an annual award given to Afrikaans-language writers by the Suid-Afrikaanse Akademies vir Wetenskap en Kuns ("South African Academy for the Sciences and Art") formerly the Suid-Afrikaanse Akademie vir Taal, Lettere en Kuns ("South African Academy for Language, Literature and Art"). It is the most prestigious prize in Afrikaans literature and was first established in 1914 as part of the Tweede Taalbeweging ("Second Language Movement"). The first winner was Totius [1] for his 1915 poetry collection Trekkersweë ("Trekkers' Ways/Grief"). The prize is awarded in turn in the categories of poetry, prose, and drama and is the highest honour that can be bestowed on an Afrikaans author. Besides a medal, the author receives a cash award funded by the legacy left to the Academy by former prime minister and Boer War general J.B.M. Hertzog [2]. The author may also use the rewards occasion to make a public acceptance speech.

Hertzogprys vir Drama(“Hertzog Prize for Drama”)

A triennial award made by the Suid-Afrikaanse Akademie vir Wetenskap en Kuns ("South African Academy for the Sciences and Art") to the best play(s) published in the previous three years, or - on occasion - for the playwright's oeuvre as a whole. The prize has not always been awarded, since no award is made if a suitable candidate is not available. The first winner for drama was only made in 1926 and went to J.F.W. Grosskopf (for As die tuig skawe and Drie eenbedrywe), followed by H.A. Fagan (Die ouderling en ander toneelstukke - 1935), C. Louis Leipoldt (1944 - Die Heks and Die Laaste Aand), Gerhard J. Beukes (1952- Langs die Steiltes, Salome Dans!, As ons twee eers getroud is and Agt eenbedrywe) and W.A. de Klerk (1952 - Die Jaar van die Vuuros, Drie Vroue, Drie Dramas en Vlamme oor La Roche), 1956 - D.J. Opperman (Periandros van Korinthe), 1960 - N.P. van Wyk Louw (Germanicus), 1969 - D.J. Opperman (Voëlvry), 1972 - P.G. du Plessis (Siener in die Suburbs and Die Nag van Legio), 1978 - Bartho Smit (Putsonderwater, Moeder Hanna, Christine en Die Verminktes), 1981 - Henriette Grové (Ontmoeting by Dwaaldrif and all her other dramatic work), 1985 - Uys Krige (total oeuvre), 1991 - Chris Barnard (total oeuvre), 1994 - Reza de Wet (Vrystaat-trilogie en Trits: Mis, Mirakel, Drif), 1997 - Reza de Wet (Drie Susters Twee), 2000 - André P. Brink (Die Jogger), 2003 - Pieter Fourie (total oeuvre), 2006 - Deon Opperman (for his (total oeuvre, up until 2005), 2009 - Deon Opperman (Kaburu), 2015 Tertius Kapp for his plays Rooiland and Oorsee.


For more information

Return to

Return to South African Theatre Venues, Companies, Societies, etc

Return to The ESAT Entries

Return to Main Page